Home | Contact | Imprint | SitemapDeutschEnglish
NIM nanosystems initiative munich
Winter School 2016

Winter School 2016

March 13 - 18, 2016, Kirchberg, Tyrol, Austria


The Winter School will cover all main research topics of NIM, referring to the five research areas:

  • RA 1: Quantum Nanophysics
  • RA 2: Hybrid Nanosystems
  • RA 3: Nanosystems for Energy Conversion
  • RA 4: Biomolecular Nanosystems
  • RA 5: Biomedical Nanotechnologies

The audience will be composed of graduate students and post-doc researchers from physics, biophysics, physical chemistry, biochemistry, biology, electrical engineering, pharmacy and medicine.

(Initiates file downloadDownload the schedule as PDF file)

Registration is closed

Program Committee

The program committee is composed of the following members of NIM:

  • Jochen Feldmann, Erwin Frey, Achim Hartschuh (LMU München)
  • Friedrich Simmel, Jonathan Finley, Sebastian Gönnenwein, Nicolas Bézière (TU München)
  • Achim Wixforth (Augsburg University)

Confirmed Invited Speakers

  • Javier Aizpurua (University of the Basque Country, San Sebastian)
  • Cyrill Bussy (University of Manchester, UK)
  • Michael C. W. Chan (City University, Hong Kong)
  • Per Delsing (Chalmers University, Gothenburg, Sweden)
  • Nick Devoogdt (VU Brussels, Belgium)
  • Pablo Docampo (LMU München, Germany)
  • Dina Fattakhova-Rohlfing (LMU München, Germany)
  • Rainer Haag (FU Berlin, Germany)
  • Laura Herz (University of Oxford, UK)
  • Johnny C. Y. Ho (City University, Hong Kong)
  • Mikael Käll (Chalmers University, Gothenburg, Sweden)
  • Simone Koehler (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Twan Lammers (RWTH Aachen, Germany)
  • Alfred Leitenstorfer (Univ. Konstanz, Germany)
  • Fred MacKintosh (VU Amsterdam, Netherlands)
  • Olivia Merkel (LMU München, Germany)
  • Maiken H. Mikkelsen (Duke University, Durham, USA)
  • Christian Pfleiderer (TU München, Germany)
  • Kurt Schmoller (Stanford University, USA)
  • Ulrich Schwarz (Universität Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Petra Schwille (MPI of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany)
  • Alexander Urban (LMU München, Germany)
  • Ursula Wurstbauer (TU München, Germany)
  • Rui-quin Zhang (City University, Hong Kong)


We have booked rooms at the Hotel Alpenhof and at hotels near by from Sunday, March 13th to Friday, March 18th (departure day). Rooms with two or three beds will be available for students, single rooms for professors, post-docs and all invited speakers.


NIM will provide transportation by bus from Munich, Germany to Kirchberg, Austria and back.

Please book the bus tranfer in our online registration form. The fee for the bus transfer will be 15 EUR for each direction.

Bus departure from Munich, Amalienstraße 54: Sunday, March 13, 1:00 p.m.

Bus arrival in Kirchberg: Sunday, March 13, 3:15 p.m. (approximately)

Bus departure from Kirchberg: Friday, March 18, 2:30 p.m.

Bus arrival in Munich, Amalienstraße 54: Friday, March 18, 4:45 p.m. (approximately)

In case that you do not book the bus transfer to/from Kirchberg we assume that you will organize your transport yourself. Please note that the program starts with dinner on March 13th at 6:15 pm and plan your arrival accordingly!

For directions to Kirchberg and general tourist information about Kirchberg, please visit: www.kirchberg.at

Poster Presentations

There will be two poster sessions during the winter school, the first on Tuesday, March 15th, and the second on Thursday, March 17th. The standard poster size is A0 (841 mm × 1189 mm) upright.

Please submit your abstract via e-mail to Opens window for sending emailwinterschool(at)nano-initiative-munich.de using the Initiates file downloadabstract template by February 24, 2016. Please do not forget to register first.

The program committee will select 10 posters for short oral presentations (5 min) before the poster sessions.


Hotel Alpenhof

Brandseitweg 18

6365 Kirchberg


Phone: +43 (0)5357 2389-0

Fax: +43 (0)5357 2389-33




Dr. Peter Sonntag

Nanosystems Initiative Munich (NIM)

Geschwister-Scholl-Platz 1
D-80539 München

Phone: +49 (0)89 2180 6794
Fax: +49 (0)89 2180 5649

print to top