Home | Contact | Imprint | SitemapDeutschEnglish
NIM nanosystems initiative munich
Press Releases

Press Releases

Thursday, 07 December, 2017

DNA origami surpasses important thresholds

Biophysics …

Friday, 01 December, 2017

It´s a matter of gradients

Origin of life …

Thursday, 23 November, 2017

Pushing the limit

Quantum Sensing …

Tuesday, 21 November, 2017

Location, location, location!

Nanomaterials …

Friday, 27 October, 2017

Diffusion 2.0

Biophysics …

Sunday, 22 October, 2017

Shrinking the proton again

Quantum physics …

Saturday, 21 October, 2017

Fluctuating conditions favor cooperation

Microbial resilience …

Saturday, 21 October, 2017

Open house day Campus Garching

Saturday, 21 Oktober 2017, 11 - 18h …

Tuesday, 26 September, 2017

ERC Starting Grant for Alexander Urban

New ideas in optoelectronics …

Thursday, 21 September, 2017

To operate, insert dimers

Innate immunity …

Sunday, 10 September, 2017

NIM NanoDay

10 September 2017, LMU Hauptgebäude …

Friday, 04 August, 2017

Red, green, yellow, blue …

Nanocrystalline LEDs …

Tuesday, 25 July, 2017

Chatting coordinates heterogeneity

Bacterial communication …

Tuesday, 18 July, 2017

Supramolecular materials with a time switch

Self-disposing supramolecular materials with a tunable lifetime …

Tuesday, 16 May, 2017

Saving energy with a tiny spot of silver

Nanophysics …

Tuesday, 09 May, 2017

Semiconductors as decal stickers

Organic electronics …

Thursday, 04 May, 2017

Funding for research network “SolTech” extended

Free State of Bavaria supports research on Conversion and Storage of Solar Energy …

Monday, 27 March, 2017

The quickest route to the tip

Protein transport …

Friday, 03 March, 2017

Unlocking the secrets of the Achilles’ heel

Microstructure and micromechanics of the interface between bone and tendon …

Tuesday, 21 February, 2017

A new spin on electronics

Interface between insulators enables information transport by spin …

Thursday, 16 February, 2017

Hairpins help each other out

Prebiotic evolution …

Tuesday, 07 February, 2017

Shaken, but not stirred

Quantum matter …

Tuesday, 24 January, 2017

What holds the heart together

Optical tweezers unveil a secret of muscle power …

Monday, 16 January, 2017

Lighting up ultrathin films

Nanophotonics …

Thursday, 15 December, 2016

Learning from nature

Artificial photosynthesis …

Tuesday, 13 December, 2016

Ernst Haage Prize for Aliaksandr Bandarenka

Excellent research in chemical energy conversion …

Tuesday, 08 November, 2016

Shaping up to make the cut

Gene regulation …

Friday, 21 October, 2016

Genes on the rack

Characterizing the mechanical properties of biomolecules …

Wednesday, 14 September, 2016

Tiny measuring device for humidity and solvent vapors

Nanosensors …

Monday, 12 September, 2016

Measuring forces in the DNA molecule

First direct measurements of base-pair bonding strength …

Tuesday, 16 August, 2016

Random walk into captivity

Biophysics …

Wednesday, 10 August, 2016

DNA dominos on a chip

Carriers of genetic information packed together on a biochip like in nature …

Tuesday, 19 July, 2016

A signal boost for molecular microscopy

Quantum Physics …

Tuesday, 19 July, 2016

Protein patterns – stubbornly stable

Biophysics …

Wednesday, 22 June, 2016

Magic carpet

Soft decoupling of organic nanosheets from metal surfaces …

Friday, 29 April, 2016

Live is motion

The LMU physicist Chase Broedersz and co-workers have developed a way to distinguish the random motions of particles in non-living molecular systems from the motility of active living matter. The

Thursday, 28 April, 2016

Friedrich Simmel receives ERC grant

The NIM member Friedrich Simmel from the Physics Department of TUM won out in the latest round of ERC grants. His interdisciplinary project is at the interface of physics and biology. It would not

Wednesday, 27 April, 2016

Mechanics of the cell

Investigation of simple model cells resolves deformation mechanisms

Friday, 11 March, 2016

Efficiency of water electrolysis doubled

A sub-surface copper layer boosts activity of platinum electrodes …

Thursday, 11 February, 2016

Partitioning by collision

Demixing particles of equal size …

Thursday, 21 January, 2016

Cell morphology shapes protein patterns

Precise control of the distribution of specific proteins is essential for many biological processes. An LMU team has now described a new model for intracellular pattern formation. Here, the shape of …

Monday, 07 December, 2015

New approaches for hybrid solar cells

Nanostructured germanium for portable photovoltaics and battery electrodes …

Monday, 23 November, 2015

Enroute to a quantum computer

Physicists at TU München detect mechanisms in semiconductor nanostructures which can cause stored quantum information to be lost and inhibit this by applying magnetic fields. …

Monday, 16 November, 2015

BIOMOD 2015 - LMU Nanocandy team takes runner-up spot

At the annual biomolecular modeling competition BIOMOD held at Harvard University, a team from LMU overcame strong international opposition to take second place overall.  …

Thursday, 29 October, 2015

Nanoquakes Probe New 2-Dimensional Material

Collaborative research between the University of Augsburg, Germany, and UC Riverside, USA, opens up new ways of understanding monolayer films for (opto-)electronic applications  …

Thursday, 22 October, 2015

A Wonder in Blue

Nanophysicists at LMU have fabricated ultrathin perovskite nanocrystals suitable for use in tunable and energy-efficient LEDs …

Tuesday, 06 October, 2015

A swinging molecule of light

A team of NIM researchers at the Institute of Physics at Augsburg University and the Walter Schottky Institute at TU Munich (TUM) successfully used nanomechanical sound waves to control a ‘molecule …

Thursday, 24 September, 2015

Nanostructures for contactless control

Chemists at LMU have fabricated a novel nanosheet-based photonic crystal that changes color in response to moisture. The new material could form the basis for humidity-sensitive contactless control …

Wednesday, 19 August, 2015

Formation of swarms in nanosystems

One of the striking features of self-organization in biomolecular systems is the capacity of assemblies of filamentous particles for synchronous motion. NIM physicists now provide new insights into …

Wednesday, 01 July, 2015

The secret of the tiny magnetic beads

NIM physicists were able to show how biological motors and molecules can be used to carry out precise measurements of magnetic materials. …

PRESS CONTACT

About NIM:

Dr. Peter Sonntag
General Manager

Phone: +49 (89) 2180 6794

Opens window for sending emailpeter.sonntag(at)lmu.de 

 

About science:

Isabella Almstätter
Public Outreach Manager

Phone: +49 (89) 2180 5091

Opens window for sending emailisabella.almstaetter(at)physik.uni-muenchen.de

 

 

print to top