Home | Contact | Imprint | SitemapDeutschEnglish
NIM nanosystems initiative munich
Press Releases

Press Releases

Wednesday, 14 March, 2012

Sculpting Light with Gold Nanoparticles

NIM scientists develop a nanomaterial that precisely modulates light …

Friday, 09 March, 2012

Validation of Landauer's principle

Results of an experiment that validates an important principle for information theory and computer science are published in Nature this week. NIM member Eric Lutz and his colleagues show that erasing …

Thursday, 08 March, 2012

Public-spirited bacteria

The mathematics of microbial cooperation …

Wednesday, 07 March, 2012

Crush hour in the test-tube

Overcrowding spoils the law of mass action …

Tuesday, 06 March, 2012

Charging up qubits in diamonds

A method for manipulating the charge of nitrogen vacancy-centres in diamond – which are thought to be important areas in the creation of qubits in quantum computers – is reported in Nature …

Tuesday, 06 March, 2012

Introducing plug-and-play nanoelectromechanical systems (NEMS)

The measurement of very low concentrations of various agents plays an important role in medicine, pharmacology and food technology. So-called “nanomechanical resonators” – vibrating nanostrings – …

Thursday, 01 March, 2012

With nanometer precision

Protein transportation via “Cut & Paste” method …

Tuesday, 31 January, 2012

Ultra-fast photodetector and terahertz generator

New applications for graphene …

Thursday, 26 January, 2012

Speed limit on the quantum highway

Propagation velocity of quantum signals …

Monday, 23 January, 2012

Tidy up the nanoparticle mixture

High-resolution particle separation in two directions …

Friday, 13 January, 2012

A nanoear to listen into the silence

Gold nanoparticles detect tiny acoustic vibrations …

Wednesday, 11 January, 2012

Backing out of the nanotunnel

New method for nucleic acid analysis …

Tuesday, 03 January, 2012

Energy saving chaperone Hsp90

Large conformational changes without ATP consummation …

Tuesday, 03 January, 2012

The art of molecular carpet-weaving

Two-dimensional networks from boronic acids …

Friday, 16 December, 2011

Targeted immune stimulation based on DNA Nanotechnology

DNA is usually known as the genetic code for protein synthesis in all living organisms. The application of DNA as a molecular building block on the other hand, allows for the construction of …

Monday, 12 December, 2011

Zeolite synthesis made easy

Possible applications in chemistry and industry …

Thursday, 08 December, 2011

Novel nano-carbon platform shows potential for future bioelectronic implants:

Biocompatible graphene transistor array reads cellular signals. …

Tuesday, 15 November, 2011

Perfect micro rings woven from muscle fibers

A biological model system that dead-ends in an “absorbing state” …

Monday, 07 November, 2011

Attention! End of traffic jam!

How a molecular traffic jam impacts cell division …

Wednesday, 26 October, 2011

Fine-grained variegation

Nanowires are more heterogeneous than anticipated …

Wednesday, 19 October, 2011

Glowing beacons reveal hidden order in dynamical systems

Experimental confirmation of a fundamental physical theorem …

Monday, 17 October, 2011

Sound gives nanocavity a twist

Researchers from Augsburg, Munich and Santa Barbara (California) successfully combined the worlds of nanophotonics and nanomechanical systems. The scientists work for the cluster of excellence …

Thursday, 06 October, 2011

Doping for solar cells

New approach enhances the formation of charge carriers …

Wednesday, 05 October, 2011

Structure of a molecular copy machine

How mitochondrial genes are transcribed …

Friday, 29 July, 2011

The dynamic of transcription

New methods allow visualization …

Friday, 29 July, 2011

The dynamics of transcription

New methods allow visualization …

Monday, 04 July, 2011

The forces of attraction

How cells change direction …

Thursday, 30 June, 2011

Shedding light on Kondo correlations

Optical absorption experiments probe the death of the Kondo effect after a quantum quench …

Tuesday, 28 June, 2011

Illuminating the origins of life

An RNA reactor might have facilitated pre-biotic information transfer …

Thursday, 12 May, 2011

An important step towards highly effective drugs

Microscale thermophoresis paves the way for a new kind of drug-screening assay based on G protein-coupled receptors (GPCRs) …

Thursday, 31 March, 2011

Green light for nanoelectronics

Single molecules form optical switch …

Sunday, 20 March, 2011

A Quantum Pen for Single Atoms

Physicists around the world are searching for the best way to realize a quantum computer. Now scientists of the team around Stefan Kuhr and the NIM member Immanuel Bloch at the Max Planck Institute …

Friday, 18 March, 2011

Sound makes nanowires blink

Sucessful NIM cooporation …

Thursday, 17 March, 2011

How long does a tuning fork ring?

“Quantum-mechanics” solve a very classical problem …

Friday, 11 March, 2011

Pushing HIV out the door

How host factors aid in the release of HIV particles …

Thursday, 24 February, 2011

Stop and Go

How the cell deals with transcriptional roadblocks …

Sunday, 06 February, 2011

Safe carriers

Modified mRNAs open up new therapeutical possibilities …

Tuesday, 11 January, 2011

Deciphering the conformational cycle of the chaperone BiP

A finishing school for proteins …

Monday, 10 January, 2011

Created as if by magic

The growth of silica nanochannels …

Friday, 07 January, 2011

Extremly fast photodetectors

Speed detection of electrons in nanoscale photodetectors …

Monday, 20 December, 2010

Muscle filaments make mechanical strain visible

New model system for examining plastics properties …

Wednesday, 15 December, 2010

Printing gold nanoparticles

Until now the positioning of nanoparticles onto surfaces required complex techniques. Recently a team of scientists around the NIM physicists Dr. Andrey Lutich and Prof. Jochen Feldmann developed a …

Monday, 25 October, 2010

Monitoring lop-sided molecular encounters

New method can detect binding interactions in blood samples …

Friday, 22 October, 2010

Observed for the first time: Atomic growth of Sapphire Nanowires

Gauzy nanowires might be part of the future development of various electronic devices. NIM member Professor Christina Scheu (Physical Chemistry Department, LMU München) and a group of international …

Friday, 22 October, 2010

Electron billiards in nanoscale circuits

Characterizing photoelectrons with quantum point contacts …

Friday, 01 October, 2010

Start eines amerikanisch-asiatisch-europäischen Forschungsverbundes im Grenzbereich zwischen Nanotechnologie und Medizin

Symposium über „Neue Wege in der Nanotheranostik“ an der LMU München …

Monday, 27 September, 2010

Nanoparticles for therapy and regeneration of osteoarthritis

EU-funded project at Klinikum rechts der Isar develops new methods …

Thursday, 09 September, 2010

Agents on the loose

New method improves transport of therapeutic nanoparticles …

Friday, 03 September, 2010

The beauty of flock patterns

A model system for group behavior of nanomachines …

Friday, 27 August, 2010

Road signs and traffic signals on DNA

Physical model describes the distribution of nucleosomes …

PRESS CONTACT

About NIM:

Dr. Peter Sonntag
General Manager

Phone: +49 (89) 2180 6794

Opens window for sending emailpeter.sonntag(at)lmu.de 

 

About science:

Isabella Almstätter
Public Outreach Manager

Phone: +49 (89) 2180 5091

Opens window for sending emailisabella.almstaetter(at)physik.uni-muenchen.de

 

 

print to top