Home | Contact | Imprint | SitemapDeutschEnglish
NIM nanosystems initiative munich
Press Releases

Press Releases

Friday, 07 January, 2011

Extremly fast photodetectors

Speed detection of electrons in nanoscale photodetectors …

Monday, 20 December, 2010

Muscle filaments make mechanical strain visible

New model system for examining plastics properties …

Wednesday, 15 December, 2010

Printing gold nanoparticles

Until now the positioning of nanoparticles onto surfaces required complex techniques. Recently a team of scientists around the NIM physicists Dr. Andrey Lutich and Prof. Jochen Feldmann developed a …

Monday, 25 October, 2010

Monitoring lop-sided molecular encounters

New method can detect binding interactions in blood samples …

Friday, 22 October, 2010

Observed for the first time: Atomic growth of Sapphire Nanowires

Gauzy nanowires might be part of the future development of various electronic devices. NIM member Professor Christina Scheu (Physical Chemistry Department, LMU München) and a group of international …

Friday, 22 October, 2010

Electron billiards in nanoscale circuits

Characterizing photoelectrons with quantum point contacts …

Friday, 01 October, 2010

Start eines amerikanisch-asiatisch-europäischen Forschungsverbundes im Grenzbereich zwischen Nanotechnologie und Medizin

Symposium über „Neue Wege in der Nanotheranostik“ an der LMU München …

Monday, 27 September, 2010

Nanoparticles for therapy and regeneration of osteoarthritis

EU-funded project at Klinikum rechts der Isar develops new methods …

Thursday, 09 September, 2010

Agents on the loose

New method improves transport of therapeutic nanoparticles …

Friday, 03 September, 2010

The beauty of flock patterns

A model system for group behavior of nanomachines …

Friday, 27 August, 2010

Road signs and traffic signals on DNA

Physical model describes the distribution of nucleosomes …

Thursday, 26 August, 2010

TUM researchers demonstrate rocking movement in the anti-stress protein Hsp90

New approach for cancer medication discovered …

Monday, 23 August, 2010

The perfect wave

Surface acoustic waves convert cell membrane into nano-conveyor belt …

Tuesday, 17 August, 2010

Highly concentrated right into the target

Cancer cells are hard to stop. They proliferate without regulation and thereby affect the healthy tissue. One possible way to fight their growth is to infiltrate anticancer agents right into the …

Thursday, 12 August, 2010

One more step on the path to quantum computers

Ultra-strong interaction between light and matter realized …

Tuesday, 06 July, 2010

The attraction of gold

Electric voltage controls the chemical bonding of DNA …

Monday, 21 June, 2010

The world´s smallest building site

Tensegrity model on the nanometer scale …

Friday, 11 June, 2010

Nanopartikel, öffne Dich!

Programmierbares DNA-Ventil setzt gezielt Wirkstoffe frei …

Tuesday, 25 May, 2010

Die Erde und der Mensch in der Physik

Was die Entropie über Vielteilchensysteme aussagt …

Friday, 07 May, 2010

Evolutionary logistics

How the first molecules could have met up …

Friday, 30 April, 2010

Biocompatible and well-priced

NIM scientists test organic semiconductors for biosensors …

Wednesday, 21 April, 2010

Interface between two worlds

Atoms coupled to a micromechanical oscillator …

Tuesday, 20 April, 2010

Changeable Chaperons

How chaperons influence the structure of proteins …

Saturday, 10 April, 2010

NaNaX4 - Nanoscience with Nanocrystals

International Conference at Munich / Tutzing, April 11 - 15, 2010 …

Thursday, 01 April, 2010

Oetzi´s Beauty Secret

5300 years enclosure in a glacier could not harm the predominant part of the connective tissue of the tyrolean iceman “Oetzi”. Scientists from the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) Munich together …

Thursday, 01 April, 2010

Beyond the Quantum Limit

MPQ-LMU scientists create multi-particle entanglement of atoms in a Bose Einstein condensate on a microchip …

Thursday, 18 March, 2010

Wenn alle an der DNA zerren

Molekulare Kräfte kontrollieren Form von Nanobausteinen …

Monday, 15 March, 2010

Rauschen macht Nanoelektroden schneller

Chemische Reaktionen lassen sich berechnen …

Wednesday, 24 February, 2010

A hot road to new drugs

Efficient identification of drug candidates …

Saturday, 20 February, 2010

Resolving single-molecule assembled patterns with superresolution blink-microscopy

Neue Techniken in der Nano‐Biotechnologie erlauben es, einzelne Moleküle zu kontrollieren, sie in definierten Mustern auf der Nanometerskala anzuordnen und sogar die Beugungsgrenze mit …

Wednesday, 17 February, 2010

Wenn Moleküle einen Reifenabdruck hinterlassen

Neuer Ansatz soll molekulare Selbstorganisation optimieren …

Friday, 29 January, 2010

Auf den Nanopunkt gebracht

Neue Farbstoffsonden erhöhen mikroskopische Auflösung …

Monday, 21 December, 2009

DNA unter Spannung

Moleküle lösen sich auf Knopfdruck von Oberflächen …

Tuesday, 15 December, 2009

Looking for the heartbeat of cellular networks

Optical approach measures molecular kinetics in living cells …

Monday, 14 December, 2009

New applications in living cells

Nanobodies modify protein shape and function …

Tuesday, 17 November, 2009

Wie sich HIV in Schale wirft

Der Dynamik viraler Ausbreitung auf der Spur …

Friday, 06 November, 2009

A nanoscopic ruler made of DNA

NIM researchers from the groups of Friedrich Simmel and Philip Tinnefeld at TU and LMU Munich created a nanoscopic ruler made of DNA.  …

Friday, 30 October, 2009

When molecules need to concentrate

Optical traps collect even nanoparticles in fluids …

Wednesday, 14 October, 2009

Quantum-limited Measurement Method for Nanosensors

A team of scientists from the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics and the LMU Munich succeeds in applying a novel optical method to nanomechanical oscillators …

Wednesday, 02 September, 2009

Coruscating currants in a cake

Nanocrystals could make anti-cancer drugs more efficient …

Thursday, 30 July, 2009

Nachwuchs für die Forschung

Mentoring-Programm führt Schülerinnen und Schüler an die Nanowissenschaften heran …

Monday, 20 July, 2009

Chasing tiny vehicles

Microscope shows how nanoferries invade cells …

Tuesday, 07 July, 2009

Mikrowellen für ultrakalte Atome

Extrem präzise Messungen dank neuartiger Mikrochips …

Friday, 26 June, 2009

It runs and runs and runs ...

NIM physicists invent the smallest electric motor world-wide …

Tuesday, 02 June, 2009

Durch Schütteln nicht gerührt:

Augsburger NIM-Physiker belegen die Gültigkeit von Fluktuationstheoremen für offene quantenmechanische Systeme …

Tuesday, 12 May, 2009

Leuchtfeuer im Nanobereich

Was blinkende Moleküle über die Zellstruktur verraten …

Wednesday, 29 April, 2009

Von Einsteins Spuk zum Quantencomputer

Am 5. Mai spricht der renommierte Wiener Quantenphysiker Anton Zeilinger bei einer Festveranstaltung der Nanosystems Initiative Munich (NIM) im Augsburger Rathaus. …

Thursday, 23 April, 2009

More than one nanostring to their bow:

Scientists moving closer to “artificial noses” …

Thursday, 16 April, 2009

Chip-Labor auf Eis

Ein Laserstrahl lenkt Wasser durch haarfeine Kanäle …

Thursday, 16 April, 2009

Digestive enzymes as door opener

Store active ingredients in nanocapsules and release them selectively …

PRESS CONTACT

About NIM:

Dr. Peter Sonntag
General Manager

Phone: +49 (89) 2180 6794

peter.sonntag(at)lmu.de 

 

About science:

Dr. Birgit Ziller
Public Outreach Manager

Phone: +49 (89) 2180 5091

Opens window for sending emailbirgit.ziller(at)lmu.de

 

 

print to top