Home | Contact | Imprint | SitemapDeutschEnglish
NIM nanosystems initiative munich

Thursday, 21 April, 2011

Awards for NIM members

Bestowed at IEEE Joint Conference "IFCS & EFTF" in San Francisco

One current NIM member and one NIM alumnus will be awarded during the 2011 Joint Conference of the IEEE International Frequency Control Symposium (IFCS) and European Frequency and Time Forum (EFTF).

  • Achim Wixforth (University Augsburg) receives the IFCS C.B. Sawyer Memorial Award. The NIM scientists is awarded "for the development and successful commercialization of surface acoustic wave driven microfluidic systems."
  • Tobias Kippenberg (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), former NIM member, receives the EFTF Young Scientist Award. The 34-year-old physicist is honored "for contributions to optical frequency metrology by the demonstration of monolithic micro resonator frequency comb generator."

The IFCS C.B. Sawyer Memorial Award recognizes outstanding contributions in the development, production or characterization of piezoelectric materials of interest to the Symposium Technical Program Committee, or to recognize entrepreneurship or leadership within profit or non profit organizations in the frequency control community (including all parts of the community).

The EFTF Young Scientist Award is conferred in recognition of a personal contribution that demonstrated a high degree of initiative and creativity and lead to already established or easily foreseeable outstanding advances in the field of time and frequency metrology. A prerequisite is that the work to be taken under consideration has been published in the Proceedings of the European Frequency and Time Forum or the IEEE Frequency Control Symposium. The award honors a person under the age of 40 at the date of the opening session of the 2011 EFTF-IFCS joint conference. The goal is to encourage scientific endeavor and competition and to help young scientists along their career paths. This award is sponsored by the Société Française des Microtechniques et de Chronométrie. The recipients are selected by the Executive Committee of the EFTF.(Source: www.ifcs-eftf2011.org).


The Joint Conference is organized by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and will be held in San Francisco, May 1-5, 2011.



no news in this list.

print to top