Home | Contact | Imprint | SitemapDeutschEnglish
NIM nanosystems initiative munich

Friday, 20 June, 2014

Special award for Peter Hänggi

New member of the European Academy of Science

The election of NIM member Peter Hänggi into the prestigious society honors his outstanding research in Theoretical Physics. Current members of the academy include 29 Nobel Laureates amongst other excellent scientists.

Peter Hänggi holds a chair of Theoretical Physics at the Universität Augsburg since 1986. After having completed his PhD in Basel, he spent about ten years as postdoctoral fellow and professor in the USA, foremost at the Polytechnic Institute of New York. During his scientific carrer Hänggi published over 550 original papers and was awarded with nine honory doctorates. He is already member of the German National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine and the Academia Europaea.


The European Academy of Sciences (EURASC) is a fully independent international association of distinguished scholars that aims to recognize and elect to its membership the best European scientists with a vision for Europe as a whole, transcending national borders both in elections and in actions, and with the aims of strengthening European science and scientific cooperation and of utilizing the expertise of its members in advising other European bodies in the betterment of European research, technological application and social development.

For the purpose of EURASC "Europe" and "European" is taken to include both holders of citizenship of a country within Europe and persons of any nationality who reside and intend to continue to reside within Europe. EURASC is completely independent of any national entity, in its membership, election processes, deliberations and actions. (Source: www.eurasc.org)


no news in this list.

print to top